Floating Sound Gallery

Klaus Filip

Klaus Filip, photo by Anastasia Blur, 2014 ev.

Klaus Filip, photo by Anastasia Blur, 2014 ev.

klaus filip *1963 computer music, programming, composition.

Klaus Filip is a performer/composer/programmer and is maybe the first viennese musician, who used the laptop on stage at around 1993. The main focus of his current work is sinewaves, whose subtle and adducent sounds are used in a wide dynamic range depending on the project; that could be a noisy set with Chulki Hong or playing at the odor detection threshold with Radu Malfatti.
Klaus Filip runs a software project called ppooll (formerly known as lloopp) that is a networking collection of a variety of modules. This freeware is widely used by improvising musicians all over the world.teaching position at the university of applied arts, vienna.steady dispute with the computer as a musical instrument.

colaborations with: radu malfatti, kai fagaschinski, werner dafeldecker, dieb13, christof kurzmann, boris hauf, christian fennesz, jason kahn, john butcher, sabine marte, gilles aubry, noid, mattin, red white, cynthia schwertsik, cordula bösze, silvia fässler, taku unami, oblaat, taku sugimoto, toshimaru nakamura, tim blechmann, ivan palacky, burkhard stangl, eddie prevost, john tilbury, ko ichikawa, nikos veliotis, axel dörner, masahiko okura, susanna gartmayer, jean-luc guionnet, seijiro murayama, katharina klement, philipp leitner, thomas strehl, u.a.

current bands: los glissandinos (duo with kai fagaschinski), taus (duo with tim blechmann), ease (duo with arnold haberl), duo with radu malfatti

projects: ppooll (open source software project, since 1997), reheat (annual multimedia festival 2007..2010), photophon (optical sound installation together with noid9, tripple duo (advanced internet improvisation concept), kleylehof (atelier & homebase)

“the lost invention”

computergenerated sinewaves floating in space, the artist is absent.
sounds spatialized in a physical model, lots of realtime random decisions of the computer.
predefined parameters:
maximum amount of sounds: 12
minimum amount of sounds: 0
waveform: sinewaves
frequency range: 20Hz to 16kHz
colliding physical models mute or unmute a sinewave.
the loudness of a tone defines the size of the physical model.

Klaus Filip,

Klaus Filip, “the lost invention”, screenshot

Klaus Filip,

Klaus Filip, “the lost invention” @ Vienna Electroacoustic Festival, 2014 ev.


“36 days of earthquake in japan”

is a 4 channel sound installation featuring a sonification of seismological data from 2011/3/10 – 2011/4/16 in japan.
the installation is combined with a video-screening of current time and magnitude.

you hear raw data of the channel BHZ (vertical broadband signal with a samplingrate of 20Hz).
the signal is played about 4000 times faster to make it audible.
one day lasts about 20 seconds.
besides this transformation in time, no other transformation is applied to the raw data.

the data of 4 different seismic stations in japan are played back by 4 loudspeakers:
MAJO: 36.5456696 E 138.2040558 N Honshu / Nagano
ERM: 42.0149994 E 143.1571960 N Hokkaido
JHJ2: 33.1152992 E 139.8137970 N Ko-jima
JOW: 26.8360004 E 128.2725067 N Okinawa

klaus filip
using the data from IRIS Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology.